Curragh Tattersalls Gold Cup

DUBLIN, IRELAND - MAY 25: Johnny Murtagh celebrates after riding Duke of Marmalade to victory in the Tattersalls Gold Cup during the 1000 Guineas Day at Curragh Racecourse on May 25, 2008 in Curragh, Ireland. (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)
The 2009 Tattersalls Gold Cup will be run on the same day as the Irish 1000 Guineas24 May 2009.

The Tattersalls Gold Cup horse race is a Group 1 flat race for thoroughbreds of four years or older, run over a distance of one mile, two furlongs and 110 yards. It’s raced each year as part of the Irish Guineas Festival at the Curragh Racecourse in Co. Kildare, Ireland.

The Tattersalls Gold Cup acquired Group 1 status in 1999. It sees top UK and Irish trainers, jockeys and owners compete for what has become one of the most prestigious titles for older thoroughbreds. In the past, it has seen winners such as Montjeu, Rebelline, Grey Swallow and Hurricane Run.

The first race under the Tattersalls Gold Cup title was run in 1993, although the race itself has been run since 1962 under different names – first as the Ballymoss Stakes and then, from 1984 up to 1993, as the Rogers Gold Cup.

Prominent Tattersalls Gold Cup Winners

Duke of Marmalade ridden by Irish jockey Johnny Murtagh finished first in the 2008 Tattersalls Gold Cup at Curragh Racecourse, beating Kevin Manning on Finsceal Beo.

The 2007 Tattersalls Gold Cup saw Notnowcato – trained by Sir Michael Stoute – make it to the finish a head in front of Aidan O’Brien’s antepost favourite, Dylan Thomas. Four lengths behind was the Irish Youmzain, trained by MR Channon.

Top Tattersalls Gold Cup Trainers

In recent times, top trainers Dermot Weld and Aidan O’Brien share the record for training the most Tattersalls Gold Cup winners. Dermot Weld saw consecutive wins in 1996 and 1997, and another win in 2005. Aidan O’Brien has also trained three Tattersalls Gold Cup winners with back to back wins in 2003 and 2004 and most recently 2008’s winner – Duke of Marmalade.

Sir Michael Stoute has trained two Tattersalls Gold Cup winners.